Effective July1, 2014 the Ga state law for Defensive Driving will increase from $75 to $95. Make sure you understand the new DDS change you can look at the new laws on their website at www.dds.ga.gov
We at Catoosa DUI & Defensive Driving School are located at 6747 Hwy 41 in Ringgold Ga. 30736. Catoosa DUI & Defensive Driving School is certified by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services (DDS).
Georgia State law requires you to attend a State certified Defensive Driving course if your license has been revoke or suspended for any reason other than drugs or alcohol, The Department of Driver Services (DDS) regulates Driver Improvement Clinics also referred to as Defensive Driving Clinics (DDC). The course is designed to teach drivers about safe driving attitudes and behaviors.
Benefits of Defensive Driving• Points Reduction – licensed Georgia residents may request that DDS reduce the number of points assessed against their Georgia Driver’s license up to 7 points once every 5 years.
• Suspension of License – If your license has been suspended for reasons other than DUI, you must complete the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program before your license is reinstated.
• Fine Reduction – Taking the 6hrs Defensive driving course may significant reduce your traffic ticket fine and prevent points from being added to your license.
• Insurance Discounts – Most insurance companies will give you 10 – 15% discount on your insurance, if you take the 6hrs defensive driving course and have had a clean driving record for the past 3yrs
Improvement of Driving Skills and knowledge of new driving rules & regulations
What is a Defensive Driving Course?
A course designed to teach drivers about safe driving attitudes and behaviors.
What is the cost of a Defensive Driving Course?
Schools may charge a fee of not more than $75.00 for the entire course.
How long is the Defensive Driving Course?
The course is 6 hours long.
Can I attend a Course via the Internet?
No. DDS only allows classroom instruction for defensive driving courses.
Does the Course involve behind the wheel instruction?
How do I obtain a points reduction?
In accordance with O.C.G.A. §40-5-86, licensed Georgia residents may request that DDS reduce the number of points assessed against their Georgia driver’s license by up to 7 points once every 5 years. To qualify for a points reduction, you must successfully complete a certified 6-hour driver improvement (defensive driving) course and present the original certificate of completion to the DDS by mail or in person at one of our Customer Service Centers.
How often may I take a Defensive Driving Course for point reduction?
Once every 5 years.
How do I qualify for a reduction in my insurance premiums?
Verify with your insurance company that you are eligible for the reduction.
Will my teenager qualify for a reduction in insurance premiums?
Check with your insurance agent for requirements.
What if I lose my Certificate of Completion?
You must contact the school you attended and request a replacement. The school may charge a fee of up to $5.00 for the replacement certificate.
I was 5 minutes late and the instructor would not allow me to attend the class. Can they do that?
Yes. Schools are required to deny entrance to any student that is not on time or late returning from breaks.
Can I get a refund from the school if I’m unable to attend the class or if I was denied entrance because I was late?
Most schools will not issue refunds. They may allow you to attend another class.
May I take a Defensive Driving course for insurance reduction and point reduction or for more than one violation?